Councillors by Ward

Local Councillors are elected by the community to champion the interests of people in the Borough and to decide how the Council should carry out its various activities. They represent residents living within the ward in which they have been elected and usually serve a four year term..

Councillors have regular contact with residents through council meetings, telephone calls, emails or face to face meetings.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

To find your councillor please use the below links:




 Chopwell and Rowlands Gill


 Crawcrook and Greenside


 Dunston and Teams

 Dunston Hill and Whickham East


 High Fell


 Lobley Hill and Bensham

 Low Fell

 Pelaw and Heworth

 Ryton, Crookhill and Stella


 Wardley and Leam Lane

 Whickham North

 Whickham South and Sunniside

 Windy Nook and Whitehills

 Winlaton and High Spen