Committee details


Purpose of committee

The Cabinet is headed by the Leader of the Council. It consists of nine additional councillors who are appointed by the Leader.  The Cabinet provides political leadership and direction across the whole range of council services and considers all policy issues.


Further information on the role and remit of this Committee is available within the Council’s Constitution. You can view/download the Constitution here.



Contact information

Support officer: Democratic Services, Tel: 0191 433 2149, E-mail: